MIA and Heavenly, Grilled Pizza

I’ve been MIA!  Last week was super busy at work and Jeff & I were camping for 4 days with his family, having a blast, so I’ve been slacking in the blog department.  Don’t worry, I’m totally making up for it with this life-changing recipe/post.

I have come across tons of blog posts and recipes for grilled pizza and have always been intrigued, but not gutsy enough to try it.  Plus, I don’t have a grill at my apartment…Well, I’ve read plenty of posts at mealsandmoves, and Janetha RAVES about how delicious her grilled pizzas are.  I decided Labor Day weekend was the perfect time to give it a try.  I texted Jeff early in the day and told him we were having an at-home cocktail hour, and we were going to GRILL pizza.  He was definitely intrigued.

I made a list of what I’d need for both the cocktails and the pizza, hit the grocery, and got started.  First up, the cocktails…I was in a Mad Men type of spirit, and since Jeff loves Don Draper almost as much as I do, I decided to make him an old fashioned.   

Jeff has an awesome coffee-table book called Vintage Cocktails by Assouline.  We pulled it out and I got started. 

I put the sugar cube into the glasses, added the blood orange bitters, an orange slice and a maraschino cherry. 

  

Then I got to work macerating everything together, and removed the orange peel.  I poured the bourbon and tonic over ice, and mixed it all up.  Voila!  It looked so tasty.

Now it was time to start dinner.  I decided to make a variation of one of the recipes I saw on Janetha’s blog…chicken and tomato pizza with pesto and 2 kinds of cheese-feta crumbles and shredded mozzarella.  I wanted to add olives and artichoke hearts, but totally forgot them at the grocery. 

Freddie was waiting patiently, even though I told him dogs don't eat pizza!

I salt-and-peppered both sides of two chicken breasts, and cooked them in a skillet on the stovetop.  Once they were finished, I shredded them up.

I used plain pizza dough from Trader Joe’s and rolled it out with flour on the counter top.  This took me a while, for some reason the dough wouldn’t cooperate.  

Stretch, already!

Maybe because I forgot to bring a rolling pin to Jeff’s and I was using a 2 Buck Chuck wine bottle???  😉

I was making eyes at the camera man!

Eventually, I got it and we threw the rolled out dough onto the hot grill and let it sit for just a few minutes, then pulled it off.  It actually burnt through the middle a little, you can see that happening in this picture.

Oops!

I took some care and time to pull off some of the burnt bits, but the over-cooked part of the crust actually wound up being one of my favorite parts of the pizza.

Next, it was time for the toppings.  I spread the pesto out onto the dough and it smelled so good, I had to lick the knife when I was done.  Next up was the chicken, then the tomatoes, and finally the feta and mozzarella.

Mmm, pesto!

Yummy chicken!Lots of romas!With feta and mozarella, cheesy!

We shimmied the pizza back onto the grill, un-grilled/un-topped side down.  We closed the lid, and let it sit for about 5 minutes, then opened it up to see and smell heaven…on a pizza.

Grilling action!

I sliced this bad boy up, plated 2 slices each, and it was absolutely fabulous! 

After one bite I told Jeff I would never eat baked pizza again.  Seriously, I am going to sound like I am going overboard, but this was the greatest thing I have tasted in a long time.  The crust was smoky-flavored and had a nice and crunchy, grilled texture.  The pesto and the chicken blended perfectly, and the cheese was warm and melted.  I loved everything about this pizza and it was actually very easy to grill.

I recommend that all of you go out and grill a pizza ASAP.  You won’t be sorry.  Then you should relax on the couch with another old fashioned and your cute dog 😉

I hope you’re having a great week.  I’m getting back into the groove after enjoying life without my phone and computer while camping.  We had such a great time and I definitely didn’t want to leave the woods…neither did Freddie. 

A true mountain pup!

Doesn’t he look at home in wilderness?  🙂

Leave a Reply

