Chicken on the Bone!

I’m super excited to post my first recipe.  It was totally out of my comfort zone, so I’ve got to admit I was skeptical from the beginning. 

RECIPE!

Today’s recipe is one I found when I was browsing Iowa Girl Eats blog a few weeks ago.  Chili & Lime Chicken Legs!  If you know me (which, I’m sure all 2 of you do!) you know I do NOT eat chicken on the bone.  I think it stems from a fear I have of eating a chicken bone and choking…who knows?  Jeff shares the same dislike for bones in his chicken, but I knew if he got to use his BBQ, he’d be game for trying this recipe out. 

I picked up some organic chicken legs from Trader Joe’s.  Since I’ve never made chicken legs before, I was surprised by the cheap price – 6 legs for just $2.19! 

The goods

Jeff started firing up the grill, and I got to work on the legs.  I rubbed each leg with some olive oil and laid them out of a cookie sheet.  I used garlic powder, ground cumin, chili powder and cayenne pepper, with some salt and pepper for the seasoning, and rubbed it into to all sides of the chicken legs.

Spice-a-licious!

 Next, I prepared some corn-on-the-cob for the grill.  I absolutely love grilled corn, and thought it would be the perfect complement to the meal.  I used a little bit of butter, salt & pepper, and lemon pepper seasoning, before wrapping the cobs in foil.

corn
Time to husk!

 Jeff put everything on the grill, over a pretty hot heat.  He also let the grill itself heat up before putting the legs and corn on. 

Nice & Hot

By this time, it was dark outside, so I had to play with my camera settings for a few shots before I got a good one.  I played Words With Friends while we waited 10 minutes.  Then Jeff flipped the legs and the corn.  Everything was sizzling and popping, so we half expected to open up the foil and find popcorn! 

I set the timer for another 10 minutes, and got to work on some Minute Rice brown rice (it cooks SO much quicker than regular brown rice, and it tastes just as good!).  Once the rice was done, the chicken and corn was ready to come off the grill.  I squeezed the legs with fresh lime slices, and covered it with foil to tent and steam for 5 minutes.

My shortcut for the evening...

I cut the corn off the cob (I hate getting corn bits stuck in my teeth!), plated up our dinner, and voilà!  All that in less than 30 minutes.  

Stop taking pictures, I want to eat!

We sat down to eat, and the meal was so good!  The chicken had a crisp, seasoned crust on the outside, with moist, lime-y meat on the inside.  I didn’t care there was a bone involved, and powered through 3 legs!  The corn was so wonderful, I thought about stealing some off of Jeff’s plate, but I let him enjoy his!  🙂  I squeezed a lime wedge over my corn and rice to tie the flavors all together.  Good idea!

We both decided the meal was worth the sacrifice of eating chicken on the bone!  I think I’ll make it again!  Here’s the recipe for the chicken legs:

Chili & Lime Chicken Legs

Ingredients:

  • 6 chicken legs
  • Olive oil
  • Ground cumin
  • Garlic powder
  • Chili powder
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Salt & pepper
  • 3 lime wedges (1 lime wedge for every 2 legs)

 Directions:

  1. Fire up your grill!  We used a charcoal grill.
  2. Coat all chicken legs with olive oil.
  3. Sprinkle each seasoning over the chicken legs and rub them in with the olive oil. Season it to your liking, I went heavy on the cumin and the chili powder to make the legs extra flavorful and spicy.
  4. Put the chicken legs directly over the coals on the grill and leave them there for 10 minutes with the grill closed.
  5. After 10 minutes, flip the legs over.  Wait another 10 minutes and remove the legs from the grill.
  6. Immediately squeeze 1 lime wedge over every 2 legs, then cover with foil for 5 minutes. 
  7. After 5 minutes, serve those legs up with some grilled veggies and rice or a salad and enjoy!

 WORKOUT!

I started running again on Monday morning.  Jeff joined me and we hit the pavement around 530am and did a quick run downtown and back.  It was just over a mile and my cardiovascular must be way out of shape.  I labored through and felt so good when we were done!  After the run, I leashed up Freddie and completed a half mile walk.  I always feel awful for putting on my running shoes and then leaving without him.  I usually run with him, but we didn’t bring him along this time.  He was really happy when I walked through the door and immediately put his collar on. 

Run #2 is planned for tomorrow morning and I’m thinking I’ll bump it up to a full 2 miles.  I’m bummed that I’m starting back at square one, since just a few months ago I ran 13.1 miles!  But, I’m VERY excited to get back into running.  It truly is a joy that has been missing the last few months.

Hope you’re having a great week!

2 Responses to “Chicken on the Bone!”

  1. steph Says:

    Hahaha! Your idiosyncrasies are already coming out…”I don’t like chicken with bones”…”I cut the corn off the cob because I hate getting it stuck in my teeth.” Classic Leslie! Also, the chicken sounds amazing 🙂

Leave a Reply

